Connecticut Marijuana Possession Bail Bonds
Since February 2012, the Connecticut General Assembly began its legislative session that opened the door for the legalization and regulation of Marijuana in the state. As recreational Marijuana remained illegal, Marijuana possession charges also remained applicable in this state.
What are the current Marijuana laws in Connecticut?
The state decriminalized the possession of Marijuana in small amounts. It means that there will be no prison time or criminal record for everyone who only possesses in small amounts of recreational Marijuana. Severe consequences wait for those who possess Marijuana depending on age, amount and intent.
Below are the penalties for Marijuana possession in Connecticut:
- First offense
If the amount of Marijuana is less than a ½ oz, the maximum fine is $150
If the amount of Marijuana is 1/2 – 4 oz, the maximum jail time is up one year and a fine amounting to $1,000.
If the amount of Marijuana is more than 4 oz, there’s a maximum of 5 years in jail and a fine of $2,000.
- Subsequent offense
If the amount is less than 1/2 oz, the maximum fine of $500.
If the amount is less than 1/2 – 4 oz, the maximum prison time is five years and a fine of $3,000.
If the amount is more than 4 oz, the maximum amount of jail time is ten years and a fine of $5,000.
Note that if you’re under the age of 21, you can still face all of the listed consequences. Your driver’s license will also have a 60-day suspension. It’s the same penalty for possessing alcohol. Selling and growing Marijuana also calls for more heavier punishments.
Because of the credited conflict in federal regulations and legal discussion, there’s a pending state of medicinal Marijuana ownership. The grey area between the legality or illegitimacy of owning Marijuana initially lies in the hands of the officer on duty at the time of the offense. With the possible legal offense are the variables to determine the severity. They vary depending on the amount, age, location and the possible intent to sell.
One example is the possession of certain kinds of medicinal Marijuana. Hash, oils, and polish are types of Marijuana. They are believed to have a higher concentration or potency. Owning them can be billed as a felony.
If you’re convicted for it, you will face up to more than 2-3 years of sentence in a state penitentiary. If the Marijuana possession charges are billed as a misdemeanor, you might spend jail time of a minimum of one year in county prison. You will also attract a $500 fine.
Marijuana Possession Bail Bond in Connecticut
Getting arrested and spending a certain amount of time in jail during the whole trial process can potentially hinder the work, school or family life of the suspect. Bailing out a loved one is a way to go to fulfill some other crucial life activities. As the listed penalties of each offense are relatively harsh, having finances intact is the best way to go. Now if you don’t have enough funds to process the bail amount, our bail bonds services might be able to help you.
The process is relatively easy. A professional bail bondsman will speak with you and run through a brief questionnaire. This is necessary to identify your loved one’s eligibility for bail. Once the eligibility is clear, discussing a flexible payment plan is next. Filling out paperwork follow and the rest will be discussed to you personally by your bail bondsman.
As Marijuana possession in Connecticut entails a huge amount of money for fines, bailing out a loved one can be hard. Call us for bail bond services whenever you need one.
Types of Bail Bonds We Serve in CT
Here at The Bail Company Connecticut, no matter what time of the day, no matter what type of bond, we can help. Give us a call today at (860) 288-5739. Our bail bond agents are ready to answer all your questions.