Connecticut Assault and Battery Bail Bonds
You or your loved one can be bailed out as early as within a few hours of an assault charge. This happens if the defendant has the funds to cover the bail amount immediately. If the charge involves severe bodily or property damage, you can be arrested and held for further interrogation in front of a judge. If you’ve been charged with assault and/or Battery in Connecticut, it’s advisable that you read about it and know how can you avail bail bond services as needed. Read on for more information:
What are Assault and Battery?
Generally, Battery is considered an offensive or harmful contact. In some states like Connecticut, Battery is the “willful application of force with the intent to cause bodily injury or offensive contact.” Assault in the most basic sense is attempted Battery. Under the state law, assault is “attempted Battery or the intent to cause another reasonable apprehension or contact.”
With the mentioned definitions, it can be inferred that two factors are essential in considering that Assault and Battery happened. There’s (1) intent and (2) whether or not contact actually happens.
Does an alleged victim need to be injured for assault charges to be made?
No. An alleged victim doesn’t need to be injured on an assault and/or Battery charge. For an assault, there’s no contact at all, and no injury happens. For Battery, any unwanted contact or touching, no matter whether there’s an injury involved, would be considered a Battery.
Are Assault and Battery a Felony?
There are various degrees of culpability depending on the state laws. Culpability has three degrees in Connecticut. Each of them considers the severity of the crime, whether or not there’s a use of a weapon or “dangerous instrumentality,” the alleged intent of the perpetrator, and the overall status of the alleged victim.
Third-degree assault is the least culpable of the three degrees. This type is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. It’s punishable by a 1-year prison term and a fine of $2,000 in Connecticut.
Second-degree assault is the middle level of culpability. This is considered as a Class D felony. It’s punishable by a prison term of 1 – 5 years and a fine amounting to $5,000.
First-degree assault is the most culpable type of them all. It’s classified as a Class B felony, and this is punishable by a prison term of up to 20 years. A fine of as much as $15,000 will also be posted.
How to pay bail for an Assault and Battery charge?
The assault bail bond cost in Connecticut varies on the intensity of the assault charges. If you’ve been charged by Assault and/or Battery, you might be able to bail for an amount ranging from a couple of thousand dollars to 10x the amount for larger cases of assault. You can pay the amount upfront if you have the cash, but if not, you can seek help from our bail bond services. We provide bail bond services with a misdemeanor, felony, cash bonds, and many more. Stop thinking twice and call us so we can work with your freedom as soon as possible.
Types of Bail Bonds We Serve in CT
Here at The Bail Company Connecticut, no matter what time of the day, no matter what type of bond, we can help. Give us a call today at (860) 288-5739. Our bail bond agents are ready to answer all your questions.