Connecticut Theft Bail Bonds
Theft is one of the common charges in Connecticut and several other states in America. It can range from just a misdemeanor to something serious depending on the severity of the crime committed, ranging from misdemeanor to felony. It’s often called as larceny in Connecticut.
Six Degrees of Theft, Imprisonment, and Fines
Theft may be classified as misdemeanor or felony, but six degrees could further define the extreme of the crime committed. Read on to know more about it:
Sixth Degree or ‘Petty Theft.’ The act of theft involves property or services amounting to $500 or less. It’s considered as a Class C misdemeanor with a punishment of no more than three months. There’s commonly a fine of less than $500.
Fifth Degree. The act of theft involves property or services amounting between $500 and $1000. It’s considered as a Class B misdemeanor with a punishment of no more than six months. There’s commonly a fine of less than $1000.
Fourth Degree. The act of theft involves property or services amounting between $1000 and $2000. It’s considered as a Class A misdemeanor and is a term for incarceration with a punishment of no more than one year. There’s commonly a fine of about $2000.
Third Degree. This act of theft is considered a class D felony and involves:
1) property of a value amounting to $2,000 and not more than $10,000
2) a motor vehicle priced at less than $10,000
3) a public record or instrument.
This charge carries an imprisonment punishment of from one year to five years. There’s commonly a fine not exceeding $5,000.
Second Degree. The second degree of theft is also considered a class C felony. This degree will be charged if the act of robbery involves:
- A type of property or vehicle with a value of more than $10,000
- Taking property from another person
- Property with a value of over $2000 and obtained by defrauding a public community
- The property was stolen through embezzlement, pretenses, or false promise where the victim is more than sixty years old or physically disabled
- Taking wires, cables, or any other equipment used in the telecommunications service
This charge carries an imprisonment punishment of from one year to ten years. There’s commonly a fine not exceeding $10,000.
First Degree. The act of theft involves property or services with a value of more than $20,000. It’s considered as a Class B felony with a punishment of one year up to twenty (20) years. There’s commonly a fine not less than $15,000.
In Connecticut, shoplifting falls under the general theft classification. However, there are more considerations to remember when it comes to shoplifting like the possibility for shoplifters to be held civilly responsible to store owners.
Connecticut Theft Bail Bond
When you or your loved one is charged with theft in Connecticut, you can lessen your time in jail when you post for bail. After your court arraignment, the judge will decide a bail amount you can pay to avoid staying in prison for a long time depending on the severity of your case.
If you’re unable to pay the bail requested by the court because you’re short in finances, you can seek help from bail bond companies like us. We will help you find ways, so your loved one will not be imprisoned for longer than needed. Don’t let you or your loved one spend another night in jail. Instead, call us today of what we can help you with our Connecticut theft bail bond services.
Types of Bail Bonds We Serve in CT
Here at The Bail Company Connecticut, no matter what time of the day, no matter what type of bond, we can help. Give us a call today at (860) 288-5739. Our bail bond agents are ready to answer all your questions.