Connecticut DUI Bail Bonds
Getting a call that your friend or a loved one has been arrested and now spends time in jail can’t get any more distressing. If you’ve never dealt with any state’s justice system before, it can be extra puzzling. In Connecticut, DUI charges are one of the common criminal offense one faces. Drastic penalties will be incurred and it can be an extra hassle if you don’t have enough funds to shoulder them. Know more about how to handle Connecticut DUI bail bond reading on.
What are the Connecticut DUI Laws?
In Connecticut, driving Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is against the law. Stiff penalties are waiting for whoever commits this offense whether it’s their first time, second or third. Generally, there are a series of tests that a person has to undergo before facing penalties. Connecticut’s DUI laws cover the suspension or revocation of driver’s license, rules for testing blood and alcohol levels, and penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Let’s go over some more specific topics on DUI law in Connecticut.
What is the penalty for DUI in Connecticut?
If you get a DUI in CT, you will either have your driver license revoked or suspended depending on your criminal history. If it’s your first violation, you can be punishable by up to maximum of 6 months in prison and $1,000 in fines. With your second violation, you may receive up to 2 years in prison and $4,000 in fines. You also might will be submitted to a alcohol treatment program.
If you get caught with a third DUI in CT, then you can get up to 10 years in prison and $8,000 in fines. All of the instances above might be enhanced if your DUI resulted in an accident, damage of property of death. In CT, if there is a death of a person from the result of a DUI charge, then that is considered second-degree manslaughter.
How long does a DUI Stay on your record in CT?
The DUI conviction will be on your CT driving record and will remain active for up to 10 years. You wont be able to have the record expunged. However if your DUI charges get revoked, you might be able to have your records expunged.
Is DUI a felony in CT?
In CT, DUI charges are in most cases misdemeanors. If you get a second or third DUI charge, then the judge might consider that a felony offense.
What’s the limit in Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) in Connecticut?
If you’re driving a motor vehicle and your BAC reaches or exceeds 0.08 percent, you’re considered driving while intoxicated. The state’s BAC limit DUI law emphasizes that there’s no need for any other evidence to support your DUI conviction.
Lower BAC limit is set for drivers under the legal drinking age which is 21 years old. Only 0.02 percent of intoxication level is the limit. If a person reaches or exceeds this rate, facing proper legal responsibilities is next. This is referred to as ‘zero tolerance law.’ It aims to curb and punish underage drinking and driving.
What is ‘Implied Consent’ in Connecticut DUI law?
Connecticut has its “implied consent ” law. It means that when one operates a motor vehicle in the state, one also consents to a chemical analysis of the driver’s breath, blood, or even urine for detection of drugs alcohol and other controlled substances.
What are the criminal penalties of DUI charges?
License revocation or suspension is only a part of the administrative penalties for DUI charges. There will be criminal penalties for a DUI conviction in Connecticut that include the following:
For first violations, one may spend 6 months in prison and pay up to $1,000 in fines. If the prison sentence is suspended, being placed under probation is an option. The driver but must do at least 100 hours of community service.
The second violation that happens within 10 years after prior conviction may pay 2 years of imprisonment. This charge will also draw up to $4,000 in fines. The driver will also face probation that requires 100 hours of community service. If deemed important by the court, there’s also a need for submission to an alcohol or drug abuse assessment and a treatment program.
Third violation that occurs within 10 years after prior conviction may attract up to 3 years in prison. Fines up to $8,000 will also be imposed along with 100 hours of community service. If the court orders, the driver also needs to submit to an alcohol or drug abuse assessment and a treatment program.
Note that penalties listed above may be enhanced if the incident of drunk driving results in property damage, accident or even death. In the state of Connecticut, when there’s death as a result of DUI is considered second-degree manslaughter. Steep penalties will be incurred as a result of driving a motor vehicle intoxicated and killing another person.
What is DUI Bail?
Drunk driving in Connecticut incurs a high sum of money and time. Surely, these amounts can seem to pour money down the drain. Posting DUI bail in Connecticut might be hard for you or your loved one. As the amount of bail varies for each case, make sure that you can still post bail and prevent detention in your local county jail.
Have a temporary release by paying bail upfront. If your funds don’t let you do it on your own, there are bail bond companies that can help you. For any help for bail bonds in Connecticut, call us for more information.
Types of Bail Bonds We Serve in CT
Here at The Bail Company Connecticut, no matter what time of the day, no matter what type of bond, we can help. Give us a call today at (860) 288-5739. Our bail bond agents are ready to answer all your questions.