Connecticut Weapons Violation Bail Bonds
In Connecticut, there’s a few strict law, requirements and rules about owning or carrying weapons. The state requires training, background check and permitting requirements for the purchase of firearms and ammunition. Violating such rules is something the state’s law doesn’t take lightly. One will have to face serious charges when you’re proved to have unlawfully carried or used a weapon.
Mistakes can happen any day, and when they’re related to firearms and weapons, they can easily lead to a quick arrest. Read on to know more about weapon violations and bail bonds in Connecticut.
What are the Gun Laws in Connecticut?
- You must be 21 years old and above.
- You must be issued a handgun eligibility certificate by the Commissioner of Public Safety. It usually takes two weeks to be approved after application. After the approval, they will request an assessment from the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a background check.
- You must also complete a safety course.
Note that convicted felons and those who have juvenile delinquency record are illegal to own any form of weapons.
When does it become a violation? What are the fines?
Weapon violation can be either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the case. It cuts between ownership and usage like possession, licensing, carrying, transporting, selling, using, and importing. The weapon violation in Connecticut includes:
Carrying a Dangerous Weapon (Felony). Certain weapons like BB gun, brass knuckles, switchblade, police baton, or electronic defense weapon is a violation. You may be sentenced up to three years in prison with a fine not exceeding $500.
Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm (Felony). Discharging a firearm intentionally, negligently, or carelessly that resulted in injury or destruction of property is a violation. You may be sentenced up to three years in prison with a fine not exceeding $250.
Committing Felony While Illegally Possessing a Firearm or Assault Weapon. You may be sentenced up to five years in prison if carrying a firearm and up to eight years if carrying an assault weapon.
Other weapon violations are:
- Carrying a gun at school
- Possessing a firearm under 21 years old
- Individual convicted of domestic battery possessing a gun
- Using false information to procure a weapon
- Pointing a gun at someone
What to do if arrested for weapon violation?
If you or your loved one are facing charges for weapon violation and arrested, there are ways to avoid keeping them behind bars for longer than needed. The judge will likely give you an option to bail out. If you’re short on finances, some companies can help you out like The Bail Company CT.
Weapon Violation Bail Bonds
Being arrested can be traumatizing for you and your family. Don’t count your days behind bars when you can do something. The Bail Company CT will help you or your loved one reclaim their freedom. We’re trustworthy and reliable bail bond agents committed to helping you post bail.
Whether you need misdemeanor or felony bail, we can cover it for you. Talk to us today to see what we can do about your case and settle some arrangements. We will help you get released from prison as soon as possible. Aside from weapon violation bail bonds in Connecticut, there are also more bail bond services that we offer.
Types of Bail Bonds We Serve in CT
Here at The Bail Company Connecticut, no matter what time of the day, no matter what type of bond, we can help. Give us a call today at (860) 288-5739. Our bail bond agents are ready to answer all your questions.